Defenestration

At Grassmarket Community Project writing group, we were given an unusual word as a prompt: defenestration. This word was defined for us literally as “the noble art of throwing out of the window”. We were told the word had been used recently, in a metaphorical sense, regarding the Professor whose scientific understanding had encouraged “lockdown” as a policy to limit the spread of the  COVID -19 pandemic. And then he and his female friend had broken the lockdown, so he had to resign, was defenestrated. 

Defenestration

A noble art, I am told
I find contradiction.
Surely Art is creative, not destructive?

An art, I am told
an action, throwing.
Throwing out, to remove
the object thrown.
Disregarding the window
which is collateral damage,
the object thrown is gone.

Me. A professor. Not destructive.
Creative, possibly self-actioned,
now shamed.
Better to go than stay
Then see whomever I want
Love whenever I want
They will stop watching me
Which is another want.
The contradiction
of being important
is not being free.

Me, ordinary Joe or Jean
Workington man, Accrington woman,
Now living in Scotland
Finding importance in words
Communication, not professing.
Windows for outlooking
where trees spring to green life
invite goodwill
regardless of the wish to
defenestrate metaphorically
or literally,
Some folk down south.

My venom doesn’t fly
to scientists or politicians
inadequate for position
I would not want to try to do.
My venom flies to the others
Reporters, communicators
Already out and about
with microphones and cameras
Kuensbergered enquiries
of Jean from Accrington
and Joe from Workington
and a Geordie Glasgow guy
as if they were interested
Sham, no shame
Glassed in their own world
public relations propaganda
I would defenestrate.

Me, grassmarket writer
known to some, part known to few
Where the antonym of defenestration rules.
Come in. Yourself. Welcome
Any art, any part.

 

One thought on “Defenestration

  1. Pingback: Crazy as a Coot – My World, Your World, One World

I would like to hear what you think of this. Please tell me