Age is glorious

Inspired by Mary Oliver: An Old Story [in Thousand Mornings]

 

Age is glorious

My heart says turn a cartwheel
my body says have you lost your tiny mind
my mind says watch it, I am in control.

Oh no, says body, my experience is first
you follow on after. Heart pumps on
feeling, feeling, feeling…

I still want to turn a cartwheel
recall exhilaration, joy, flip my being
and pride, standing again upright.

So even though I know
that if I turned a cartwheel
the emergency service would follow

I still have time
for feeling feeling feeling
The exhilaration of being.

 
 
 
 
On a grey morning, and it is snowing again, meetings cancelled again, I turned to favourite poetry books to while away a moment or two.
Poetry can make change happen. Write on all friends. Thanks again Block Island Poetry Project for inspiration when you began 12 years ago. Soon it will be the 12th annual celebration.

7 thoughts on “Age is glorious

    • Well I am now 71 – I just try to ignore all the creaks most of the time as no-one wants a moaner around. And it does work, private time with a bit of self-care, self-aware, then ‘get a life’ as they say (think that is one of the most horrible expressions recently around)

      Like

  1. I also am happy to age, it is OK to miss lots of things as there is so much more that happens instead. I am gobsmacked when I think of the life I lead now that I could not even have imagined ten years ago, let alone when I was younger. Paradoxically one belief is that we all need to care that children everywhere have the best possible love in their lives – I was indeed lucky long ago. We can change for the better, but better still start with the better.

    Like

    • what a good comment – I am enjoying the ‘disasterville’ though of course hope that for you you are more like me than in real disaster. You might like the words of one friend who is now 87, “OK when we meet, five minutes for the ‘organ recital’, need the time for all the rest, whatever it is”. I discovered I cannot write profound moving Mary Oliver poetry, but find what I let happen goes quite quickly to real stuff od a different kind – sometimes. Thanks for reading.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I shall long remember your delicious phrase “the organ recital” Do you read French? There is a common phrase when oldies meet: “T’a mal ou?” to which the response is “Partout.” (Where does it hurt? Everywhere) I put it into a French poem.

        Like

I would like to hear what you think of this. Please tell me

