Pussy Riot

Pussy Riot is the name of a group of women in Moscow, where in mid-August three women were jailed for ‘hooliganism’. They had interrupted a church service and criticized Putin. I do not know enough about their circumstances before or after the protest, instinctively feel they did not protest wisely or well, and might be wrong, but do not feel that what happened to them is right. [Reminders of London young people jailed for rioting a year previously]. I wrote this poem in the middle of a group session at a weekend on Block Island led by the Frantzich Brothers, where someone had brought the Pussy Rioters story in to the group discussions of injustice. Tim was playing guitar.

I remember
Trying to do damage
Making my own pussy riot
Pushing, penetrating, piling it on
So they would listen
Someone should listen
Without that
I would feel fucked.

I remember
I remember hurt and hurting
Remembering the power in the wish
Remembering the pain in the fist
I arrive on the road to compassion.
3 thoughts on “Pussy Riot

  1. Pingback: What’s in a Name? « Poetry of Moods and Moments

  2. Pingback: Change, and Compassion « elspethc

I would like to hear what you think of this. Please tell me

