The Top Drawer

Writing 201: Day 8 prompt, form and device are – drawer, ode, apostrophe – which means that the speaker in the poem addresses another person or an object (usually personified) directly. I did not know that was what that device was called.

Ode to the Top Drawer

You know you are rarely opened.
You know you are small, though close to hand.
Always the top drawer in whatever bedroom I inhabit.

Such important content you keep safe.
These items each are small, easily lost in a crowd.
I need you, the careful placement you offer in your safe closure.

I surf the net, I dream and plan.
I make decisions, shop, take the suitcase, fly.
I empty you of passport, visa and spare credit card.

2 thoughts on “The Top Drawer

I would like to hear what you think of this. Please tell me

