Hard Life

Hard life

How does one see the course of a life

From a spring beginning

To dark bog seeping

Rottenness glimpsed

pressure packing tight the weave of every moment.

Purple black light glints

oiled colours under the dank surface

heaves a rainbow slow deep undulating.

In awareness

Stilled violence bruises spirit

turns its back on weeping

Tell it clear swearing in your face

the best is here growing

to fierce flame.

Aggression.

This truth comes hard as anthracite.

written April 2012, after writing this next poem which is the prequel I think, and not such a strong feeling

Passing on frustration

Not me

making me not me

to struggle

with terrors in the self

cry not me

deliver anger

distress

despair

wherever it finds a home

Anywhere

Everywhere

 

One thought on “Hard Life

  1. Pingback: Boston in Spring « elspethc

I would like to hear what you think of this. Please tell me

