What’s in a Name?

Last weekend I was at a gathering on Block Island where the Frantzich Brothers [Tim and Paul] sang, and while singing, suggested remembering. Hence two poems surfaced, the first all as it came is on a different post, this is the second which was unusual for me in that I could not ‘just write’ but had to get home to look up John Hewitt’s poems [Ulster Names, Postscript1984] and check my names spelling for the villages in one of the Federally Administered Tribal Areas of Pakistan.

I remember when I was a child
John Hewitt wrote music from the Ulster names
Dreaming words from Moy to Crossmaglen.
And then
A postscript.
History came to Crossmaglen
And there they lived a little hell, not well.
With grief of kin and murderous men.

Another time
A world away holds wider names
Mansehra, Jabba, AAhl.
Are they on the road to Chitti Gatti
Khanajan, Kurmang and Kohistan?
Hell knows the strangest places
Strange music sounds. Difference comes.
And I remember, once, long ago
A man came from Samaria.
I would like to hear what you think of this. Please tell me

